TOUCH BELOW FOR A FREE CASE REVIEW 24/7

The California Department of Motor Vehicles has there own system for penalizing those that are caught for driving under the influence.

  • The California DMV is the State’s governing authority on the license to drive. As a result, the DMV hs the right to grant the privilege to drive as well as take it away if a driver seems to be unfit or a threat to other motorists and property.
  • The DMV conducts its own hearing in determining whether a person should receive a restriction or suspension on their driving license as a result of an arrest for driving under the influence.
  • The DMV conducts its own hearing which is based on evidence attained by the arresting officer, usually the same evidence that would be used in the criminal matter. However, a DMV Hearing Officer could potentially come to a different conclusion than the criminal court.

The standard DUI penalty for a drunk driving conviction may fall in the existing range:

For DMV Penalties for Driving Under the Influence
BAC .08% or greater Refusal

  • First Offense: 4-month suspension 1-year suspension
  • Second Offense: 1-year suspension 2-year suspension
  • Third Offense: 3-year suspension 3-year suspension
  • Fourth Offense: 4-year suspension` 4-year suspension

 


For more information about our services and the options in your case, please call our office and schedule a free consultation.

 

Law Offices of Ramiro J. Lluis 205 South Broadway, Suite 1000 Los Angeles, CA 90012 (213) 687-4412 | www.Lluislaw.com